Vegetarians Crave The Weirdest Things

Posted on October 1, 2010

0



So I get home from classes, starved and totally unaware of what I want to eat. And because preparing food tends to make me anxious, the initial 5 or 6 items I pull out  from the fridge/pantry are usually totally and unbelievably different than what I end up putting in my mouth..Or just a hodgepodge of what I cant decide between.

Like today for instance, I know I want to be semi  industrious with my meal and really make sure it packs a healthy punch. So in between munching on pretzel rods and steaming a sweet potato in the fridge, that I ultimately find I don’t have the patience to eat separately, I concoct this glorious sandwich I like to call..’The cinnamon raisin weird-ich’, or ‘weird-ich’ for short..or just weird. Anyhow, not bad, but also not for those with a weak stomach.

But check it out; nutritionally, it gets the job done people. I’ve good heartedly included the recipe below the picture of the weird-ich, which I know you’ll have to restrain yourself from making your desktop wallpaper. And please, deli owners and entrepreneurs who happen to read my blog, if your going to make this a staple item on your menu, at least include a Phat Chow shout out in the description.

Cinnamon Raisin Weird-ich

  • 2 slices Ezekiel cinnamon raisin bread (sprouted whole grain bread)
  • 1 small sweet potato
  • 1/4 cup steamed broccoli
  • 1/4 cup spinach
  • 2 slices hickory smoked tofurkey
  • 10 sprays spray butter
  • 1 Tablespoon sour cream
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt

Instructions:

  1. Use fork or knife to poke holes all over sweet potato, rinse off, wrap in paper towel, microwave 7 minutes, flipping half way.
  2. Take out of microwave, mash with fork and season with salt and sour cream
  3. Mash in broccoli
  4. Toast Ezekiel bread lightly, spray with butter.
  5. Assemble Weird-ich

Enjoy! And while chewing and thoroughly questioning your sanity for partaking in such a sandwich, be aware that you are in-fact what you eat you healthy little weird-ich you…

Calories: around 350

