Lay-Zing Sun Day ‘Lemon Cocoa Omega Café’ yogurt drink

Posted on October 3, 2010

3



 

Lemon Cocoa Omega Café

 

So 6:00 came around on this MUCH needed lazy Sunday that happens to have me in home sweet home nirvana, and I realize, “Oh no! I forgot to get my fish oil in today!”. Which, come on guys, I know I’m not alone in this out there..

See, John, the fish oil guy at work, gives me his “If your not taking fish oil you are wasting your life away” shpeil every week when I complain to him about my combination acne prone skin and my monthly bouts of anxiety and depression. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve been wanting to take fish oil since I started working at Rainbow Blossom and hearing all the success stories but I mean, I am working at rainbow blossom, its not like I can really even afford to buy the fish oil we sell.

John always relays the success stories he hears to the rest of us at work and his own drastic skin and mood improvements from ingesting fish oil, so at this point I’m just sick of hearing about how it will work for me and slobbering over whether or not to shell out the green!! End of story: I say, “John how much of a discount would you give me on a bottle of fish oil?” and then he decides to make this hippies day as he informs me that for no cost he’ll just let me have an entire still sealed 8 oz. bottle of the Complete Omega 369 cod liver oil and the rest of what he’d been using to give samples that day! (He gets loads of this stuff on his doorstep to sample at no cost to him when he does demos at our store and Whole Foods.) Dude, free fish oil is like, a very lucky day in a health nerd’s world.

SO, after the whole afternoon in the kitchen cooking up the most DEvinely fragrant sweet and spicy vegan stew

 

'Sweet and Spicy Vegan Stew'...recipe coming soon!!

 

and my heart gushing rainbows reminiscing on the warm smell of fall, I decide I cant just throw back a teaspoon of fish oil, I have to keep up the autumn spirit and make it a Sunday afternoon mission to make fish oil a tasty treat! Here’s the recipe I concocted after having a craving for hot chocolate, and trying to find a way to incorporate fish oil into a snack today. Hope at least one of you bad asses out there tries this! ; )

Ingredients: food processor or blender helpful

1 Tablesoon. Unsweetened Cocoa (I used hersheys)

3/4 cup. Unsweetened Almond Milk (or skim milk, but I just love almond milk its so creamy and good for you)

1/4 cup. strong coffee

1 8 oz. container Yogurt (regular light vanilla flavor is best but 0% vanilla greek would be fine too)

1 Tablespoon. Truvia or equivalent natural sweetener (mmm I bet even honey or agave would be tasty)

Mocha powdered coffee creamer (I happen to have maxwell sugar free mocha swiss cafe laying around)

1 teaspoon lemon flavored cod liver oil (I prefer Nordic Naturals, they seem to be the most legit brand out there and the taste definitely isn’t unbearable if your sensitive to the taste of fish oil)

Directions:

  • heat milk in microwave 45 seconds
  • pour heated milk and coffee in small saucepan on medium high.
  • sift in all ingredients one by one (except fish oil and yogurt) and stir until dissolved.

*********note: stop here for a warming rich cup of mocha coffee : )

  • Let mixture cool.
  • Pour in cooled liquid mixture along with the yogurt and fish oil into the food processor or blender. Blend until consistency is smooth.
  • Refrigerate for a few hours for best results or pour into glass, throw an autumny orange straw in there and drink up!

MMMMM nutritious!

**UPDATE: I’m not sure what crazy health food high I was experiencing when I made this and..drank it, blech, but word of advice: PUT FISH OIL IN THIS DRINK AND YOU’LL REGRET IT, JUST DON’T DO IT. Take that fish oil pre-consumption of  this delightful yogurty treat, and you’ll be good to go with a mighty tasty beverage : )

