Newman’s Own Has Done It Again

Posted on October 25, 2010

0



 

MMMM tangeriney

 

As I was doing my closing rounds at Rainbow Blossom (you know, wrapping up and, dare I say, sampling the samples, fronting and facing, etc.), I was eye balling the rarely touched but frequently gawked at candy/chocolate shelves and I noticed something new: Newman’s Own Tangerine Licorice Twists; intriguing! I had to buy. Now, let me preface this by telling you how rarely I ever buy candy because I just think Honeycrisp apples taste too delicious and, OMG GUILT FREE, to inject myself with sugar and artificial colors and flavors; HOWEVER, these little babies contain the following quite impressive and not entirely guilty ingredients:

  • Organic Wheat Flour
  • Organic Sugar (still sugar, but what the hell)
  • Corn Syrup (Ok, I swear this list gets better, but hey, at leeassttt it’s not the high fructose kind, right?)
  • Organic Tapioca Syrup
  • Vegetable Glycerine
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Citric Acid
  • Natural Flavor (ugh, I do kind of look down upon such a vague description here buuut check out the ingredients coming up…)
  • Beta Carotene (woohooo for natural color!!!!!!)
  • Tangerine Essential Oil (omg you guys, you can definitely tell the difference between this and artificial tangerine flavor, seriously…mmm)
  • Licorice Root Extract (and ok, UHHHWOOAHH we could all use some of this stuff, evenn if it is mcg status here..well, ok and not Deglycyrrhized licorice, the actually beneficial form..hehe but still, looks good on paper…)

OKAY OKAY so mayyybe I was just hunting for an excuse to get a sugar high BUT with only 130 calories for a serving (5, 4 inch strips) 2 grams of fiber, 2 grams of protein, and a quite impressive (for a serving of licorice) 12 grams of sugar, what a damn good excuse to munch on candy…and the essential oil makes your mouth kind of tingle by the 7th piece (ok hey now, cut the raised eyebrows act, so what I had 2 more pieces than suggested on the label but..the stuff is GOOD) which makes it kind of hard to eat the whole pack; BONUS!

 

(this is for the strawberry kind, but you get the gist...)

 

