Dill-icious (and vegan) Guacamole Dip featuring Coconut Milk

Posted on December 30, 2010

0



If cow’s milk is one of the dairy products holding you back from embracing a vegan lifestyle with open arms and soy milk just isn’t your cup of..tea, then do yourself a solid and take another stroll past the milk alternatives section in your health market (or all natural section of your local grocery) and shift your focus towards the Coconut Milk. While the almond milk varieties are usually my go to for vegan recipes calling for milk, they can lack the rich flavor and texture of cow’s milk. Coconut Milk, however, is a thick and dreamy way to fill even the whole milk void in your life (and for only 90 calories a cup for the sweetened variety, ‘but in non-dessert recipes such as this one I like to use Unsweetened which clocks in at 50 calories a cup’) And if your a Coconut Water hater, check your coconut negativity in at the door before you wrongly neglect Coconut Milk (completely different tastes and textures.)

During my midnight grocery run last night a shiny avocado caught my eye. “Must. Make. Guac. A. Mole.” said the little Phat Chow voice in my head. So I grabbed it and hoped I had what it took in my kitchen loot at home to pull a guac recipe off (oh I did).

This afternoon when I opened my refrigerator several items caught my eye as I reached for the avocado, then the coconut milk, Pumpkin Spice Kefir (relax relax, not for the guac; but for a blended pumpkin slush to sip while pondering the guacamole) and lastly the Lite Safflower Mayo. I decided to hope for the best. After opening my spice cabinet and deliberating over the perfect herbs to make this guac different from the rest, I spotted Dill. I know, right; oh la la, DILL! And this is what I came up with (SO tasty).

Dill’icious Guacadip

1 Medium Avocado Guts

1 Tablespoon Lite Natural Eggless Mayonnaise (from Safflower, Canola Oil, Grapeseed Oil: I like Hain’s Lite Safflower Mayonnaise)

1/2 tablespoon Lemon Juice

1/4 cup Unsweetened Coconut Milk (I like SO Delicous)

1/4 teaspoon Natural Salt (I used Real Salt in this recipe)

1/4 teaspoon chopped garlic

1/8 teaspoon Cumin

1/8 teaspoon Ground Black Pepper

1/8 teaspoon Dill

Throw all ingredients in food processor, grate grate grate grate (’till desired cosistency, ‘I like it a little chunky’)

**To dip I used Lisanatti Almond Cheese (mozzarella style, **warning: does contain Casein ‘milk protein’) and Wasa ‘thin and crispy’ Flatbread (Rosemary)

Pumpkin Spice Kefir Slush

1 cup crushed ice

3/4 cup Pumpkin Spice Kefir (By LifeWay **Can be substituted with a vegan alternative to milk Kefir like Coconut Milk Kefir and a dash of pumpkin spice)

1/4 cup Unsweetened Coconut Milk

1/2 teaspoon pumpkin spice

BLEND

(then I like to pour in a fancy cup and sprinkle a little nutmeg right on top)

**This is NOT vegan, unless using Kefir made from coconut, rice, or soy milk (not lifeway’s pumpkin spice)

Kefir is a fermented milk drink (comparable to yogurt with good bacteria (probiotics/gut flora) for your digestive system, except with the added bonus of containing beneficial yeast and other essential vitamins and minerals). Because of the immune boosting benefits Kefir has been used in treatment of AIDS, chronic fatigue syndrome, herpes, and cancer. (1)

Kefir aids in cleansing the intestines with probiotics, is easily digested, and is a complete protein. It’s also been said to have a tranquelizing effect for those who suffer from sleep disorders and ADHD (because of the Tryptophan it contains). The impressive enzyme content in Kefir totes even more health benefits, especially for those suffering from lactose intolerance. Although Kefir is a milk product, many Lactose Intolerant sufferers can tolerate raw Kefir with no negative side effects whatsoever. (2) With regular use, one could see significant health improvements (nice b.m’s!) with Kefir.

(1)http://www.buzzle.com/articles/kefir-health-benefits.html

(2)http://www.seedsofhealth.co.uk/fermenting/kefir.shtml

