Cubana Hit This Rice and Bean Bowl

Posted on May 17, 2011

2



I HEART leftovers. Really, I look forward to them way more than the original meal. “What’s so cool about making a whole lot of rice and beans?” someone in the world might be wondering right now… Answer: Putting them in the fridge to soak up all the great flavor overnight and recycle for a quick and tasty makeover the next day or even a couple of days down the road!

Last night my Dad, who has recently discovered the beauty of jasmine rice, cooked his specialty: oven roasted salmon, rice, and beans. I had already eaten by the time I got home BUT there’s no way that stopped me from thinking ahead…T.G.F.Tupperware.

I recently scooped up this savvy new drink I found on the shelves at Rainbow Blossom and decided to transform into Phat Chowtail (health guru bartender @ your service) and sip on a yummy probiotic chia seed cocktail while I prepared my cuban themed (says the addition of sweet potatoes) rice and bean dish.

The Matcha Twist

Chia Seeds, KeVita Matcha Green Tea, and Lime

Chia Gel

KeVita Probiotic Drink

And Lime (2)

Cubana Hit This Rice and Bean Bowl

good+good+good+good=orgasmic

Ingredients

  • Leftover Jasmine Rice (seasoned with ground black pepper to taste) –> How To Cook Jasmine Rice
  • Organic Black Beans (I like to season with a dash of garlic powder and ground black pepper)
  • Squeeze of Lime
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 small sweet potato, washed and cubed
For Seasoned Broccoli
  • 1/2 cup washed broccoli heads,
  • Spike Seasoning to taste (I used 1/2 teaspoon)
  • Squeeze of Lime
  • Cumin to taste (I used 1/2 teaspoon but I LOVE my cumin)
  • Sprinkle of red pepper flakes to taste
  • 1 teaspoon EVOO
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • squeeze of lime

Directions

pre-oven

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F
  2. In a Dutch oven/pot of your choice, bring 1 inch water to boil, in steamer put cubed sweet potato for 10 minutes
  3. For Broccoli, in container with lid place broccoli ingredients and shake until thoroughly coated
  4. In small casserole dish lined with aluminum foil, cover bottom with spinach
  5. Cover spinach evenly with rice and beans then add seasoned broccoli and sweet potato cubes once 10 minutes of steaming is finished
  6. Bake in oven for 10-12 minutes or until the aroma is like the sirens song to  your Ulysses : 0  (the broccoli should look crispy and the sweet potatoes slightly browned around edges)
QUADRUPLE YUMMMMMMMMMMMMSIES

Resources

(1) How To Cook Jasmine Rice–> eHow; http://www.ehow.com/how_5050868_cook-jasmine-rice.html

(2) Lime Picture->© Jennifer Alys Windholz, 2010; http://windwein.wordpress.com/2010/05/24/tequila-lime-marinade/

Posted in: Uncategorized