Kale-ypso Omelette Burrito

Posted on May 20, 2011

1



Today was one of those days where I was just 24 hours of HUNGRY (even when I was dreaming). Around 2 pm I was ready for a protein packed, vitamin saturated, hot and wholesome hungry woman snack. Breakfast was still on my mind, and I was in the mood to bite into something awesome.

After playing 20 questions with my fridge and pantry long enough to surrender with too many options and insufficient decisiveness, I decided to take another look in my fridge and behold: I put together the edible pieces and amazing opportunities for brunch became all too clear.

I knew what had to happen; an egg, kale, and lavash combo was in order.

Time to get burrito with it (na, na, na, na, na na).

Kale-ypso Omelette Burrito

Kale-ifornia Dreamin'; and yes, I did in fact balance this plate of burrito on the edge of a birdhouse roof top for this picture...

Ingredients:

Omelette skillet action

  • 2 eggs, preferably free range (2 egg white, only one of the yolks)
  • 2 teaspoons EVOO
  • 1 thin wheat lavash slice (I used the kind by Oasis Classic Cuisine) or 1 wheat tortilla
  • 1 wedge herb and garlic laughing cow cheese (room temp, normally not a fan of this processed of cheese, but, it was screaming. or should I saw laughing, at me!)
  • 1 cup chopped and steamed kale (steamed for about 5 minutes, enough time for nutrients to release, not enough time for nutrients to be destroyed)
  • 1 Tablespoon Chia Gel (optional, but optimal)
  • 2 Tablespoons Rawmesan or nutritional yeast
  • 5 sprays of Braggs Liquid Aminos or 1/2 teaspoons lite sodium msg free soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoons herb blend seasoning (salt free, like the kind by spike)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Instructions:

How To Fold A Burrito (courtesy of Qdoba.com, 2) CLICK TO ENLARGE

  1. Place Lavash on flat surface, like a cutting board, and evenly spray Braggs Liquid Aminos around Lavash.
  2. Heat skillet to medium heat and add EVOO
  3. Add steamed Kale to skillet
  4. Whisk 2 egg whites and 1 yolk along with 1 T. chia gel in small bowl for about 30 seconds
  5. Add laughing cow cheese, whisk until incorporated into egg mixture
  6. Add salt, pepper, herb blend to taste
  7. Pour egg mixture over kale in skillet
  8. When liquid becomes white around edges, fold sides in to create omelette and when firm press lightly until lightly browned
  9. Flip and press until lightly browned on both sides
  10. Place egg and kale omelette on lavash (or wheat tortilla slice) and fold up into burrito (see diagram to right), cut in half : )

Resources:

(1) http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=38

(2) http://www.qdoba.com/EnthusiastFold.aspx

