StRAWberry Kiwi Oatmeal Strudel (no bake)

Posted on July 20, 2011

3



While working at Rainbow Blossom I’ve come across a lot of literature encouraging me to go raw.  If you’re not familiar with this term don’t feel too bad (as long as it was a vegetable or fruit it meant it was raw to me a year ago, cooked or not). As the saying goes, when it rains it pours. Once I heard about the raw foods diet, it seemed as though I couldn’t turn a corner with out a story of raw foodism creeping up and poking with exponential force at my curiosity nerve.

I believe it was around January of this year that I came across THE RAW TRUTH by New York Times best selling author

("The raw truth-image," 2011) (2)

Jordan Rubin. It was part of a sales promotion going on at Rainbow where if you bought a Garden of Life product from the RAW line you received this free book boasting the many benefits of following a raw food diet. The book breaks the ice with a touching story about the author’s battle with Crohns disease, and how he kicked the disease in the ass and consequently transformed his life by going on a diet composed of entirely raw foods. “HMMMMMMM”, I thought; “I wonder how this diet would affect the acne I’ve never been able to get rid of and the irritable bowel syndrome that’s plagued me since I was 16…” and off I went to research and discover a myriad of transformative, disease curing miracle success stories from self-proclaimed raw foodist converts!

I flipped to the back of the book where all the raw recipes were, expecting to see a yawn inducing list of salad recipes and a hodgpodge of hommus concoctions but to my surprise, “SAY WHAA?? Raw apple pie? Raw pizza? Raw mushroom gravy? Raw mashed potatoes??? Even raw decadent chocolate sauce, yo this is rawesome!” It just felt right.

I brought the book home and whipped up a few recipes. YUM. I knew I was about to go on a serious RAW kick. But the thing was, I had to let this stuff sink in. I mean woah, raw means NO cooked foods. According to THE RAW TRUTH (Rubin, 2010), most raw foodists, and a few scientific studies, if foods in their natural state are heated over 118 degrees than most of the precious enzymes, vitamins, and minerals are totally lost (sad face). I knew I had to strut my way through the transtheoretical stages of change and work my way up the radiantly raw food chain before completely going cold tofurky on the hot food.

So this past month when I rediscovered the book, I realized that over the past 6 months by simply planting the seed of motivation and curiosity into my head and without even paying too much attention to going raw I had incorporated SO many raw meals into my diet. “Ok so I think I can really do this now! I am ACTUALLY ready to do this!” Time is money is good health phat fans and I am about to encroach on a 7 day entirely RAW food challenge.

("Raw food pyramid," 2010) (3)

After browsing the internet I have found that eating RAW only means discovering a whole new and amazing world of beautiful food creations. Over the past 2 weeks my daily food intake has consisted of about 75% raw foods. YAY, I feel fabulous! I can’t imagine how I’ll feel eating entirely raw foods for a week, but I’m pretty eager to find out! Being realistic about this whole journey I know that doing ALL raw foods for the REST of my time is a little too shrewd for my phat chow style. I don’t ever picture myself totally giving up the wholesome cooked foods I’ve learned to love, but I do know I’m already hooked on raw food meals after experiencing way less stomach aches and way more energy.

I have decided that as soon as I begin my 7 day totally raw foods journey I will launch a video blog documenting everything. I plan to be completely honest about how I’m feeling, including: my reactions to the different raw foods I’m trying, disclosing everything I’m eating and drinking to you, my exercise/activity habits, the emotions I’m experiencing on my journey. I will also be including videos of yours truly whipping up some of the fabulous raw stuff I’m chowing down on and creating in my kitchen.

I want go about this process in as scientific of a manner as possible so I can fairly evaluate whether I would recommend a raw food lifestyle (even though 7 days is hardly enough to get a true idea, mind you.) As I commence on my journey I’ll be placing  my raw fate in the hands of raw foodist expert Natasha St. Michael of Raw and Radiant Health by joining her next upcoming 7 day raw food challenge. I’ve prepared by watching the a-z everything you need to know about going raw videos she has graciously archived on her blog, Raw Radiant Health.

Until then…

After fooling around in the kitchen for a few weeks I’ve turned out this zany little recipe I want to share with all my favorite phatties ; ) If you love oatmeal and imagining fruity tart filling oozing out of things makes your mouth water then you’ll love this super living twist on a strudel. It’s PACKED with fiber, protein, thiamine, niacin, iron, phosphorus, vitamin C, uncooked enzyme power* and more!

StRAWberry Kiwi Oatmeal Strudel

SO satisfying unlike ANY gross packaged pop tart or toaster strudel you'll microzap or toast!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup oat groats, ground to as fine a flour as you can muster using a food processor (I used oat groats by arrowhead mills as they insist their groats are truly raw throughout dehulling process, unlike most companies which may use high heat during dehulling) you could also use raw almond flour (find at your local health food store
  • 1 teaspoon maca powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon Real Salt, Celtic Salt, or Pink Himalayan Salt
  • 1 Tablespoon raw stevia (the true blue, or green rather, stuff. Please be a mindful consumer when you buy stevia labeled as raw; if it is truly raw it won’t have added ingredients such as dextrose, maldextrose, etc. It should just list pure green stevia.)
  • 3/4 cup almond milk (homemade using soaked almond overnight, processed, and pulp strained through cheese cloth/nut milk bag; video coming soon on how to make this delicious stuff!)
  • 1/2 cup raw almond butter (or raw nut butter of your choice)
  • 1 teaspoon fresh grated ginger (I use small garlic press to accomplish this)
  • 1 teaspoon ground organic cinnamon

Instructions

  1. Mix together oat groat flour, maca, and salt in bowl.
  2. Using a mixer or food processor mix rest of ingredients.
  3. Fold wet and dry mixtures together.
  4. Cover a cookie sheet with wax/parchment paper and lightly coat with extra virgin cold pressed coconut oil (so mixture easily comes off paper once cool)
  5. Spread mixture thinly and evenly out into a square shape. Refrigerate overnight or until firm to the touch.
  6. Prepare kiwi chia filling and refrigerate overnight or until firm.
  7. Using spatula, spread kiwi chia (or whatever raw fruit jam you’d like) onto half of oat mixture.
  8. Using large spatula lift oat mixture up from parchment paper and fold in half over filling. Refrigerate for an hour or so for greater handling ease.
  9. Cut into desired shape.
  10. Whip up strawberry topping and evenly coat over top of strudel. Refrigerate for an hour or so until firm.
Makes 1-2 strudels. YUMSIES.

Chia Kiwi Filling

  • 1/4 cup chia gel
  • 1 kiwi, peeled (unless you like fuzzies in your mouth…awkwaaard) and diced
  • 1/4 cup soaked and pitted medjool dates
Pulse in food processor until smooth, refrigerate overnight

Strawberry Frosting

  • 8 pureed strawberries
  • 1 heaping Tablespoon melted coconut manna (melt in small glass container in bowl of hot, not boiling, water)
Pulse in food processor until smooth

How to Make Chia Gel (yields approximately a cup of gel)

  • 3/4 cup seeds, ground into meal using coffee grinder (I find food processors don’t quite get the job done; maybe because mine is a p.o.s)
  • 1 cup of purified water
  • Glass Jar with lid (orrrr tupperware will do)
  • A few hours in the refrigerator (overnight works best)

YUMSIES. Heads up you'll probably have to eat this with a fork!

*According to claims made by RAW TRUTH and most other raw foodist experts
Resources
  1. Rubin, Jordan. (2010). The raw truth-transform your health with the power of living nutrients. West Palm Beach, FL: Garden of Life, LLC.
  2. The raw truth-image. (2011). [Web]. Retrieved from http://realfoodtulsa.blogspot.com/2011/01/raw-truth.html
  3. Raw food pyramid. (2010). [Web]. Retrieved from http://www.vegan-raw-diet.com/rawfoodpyramid.html
