Tropical Thunder To Feed Your Hunger

Posted on July 22, 2011

3



Top 5 green things that get me going (in no particular order..)

1. Dollar Bills

(after proofreading this I do want to clarify I don’t work with poles for a living)

2. Green Lights

3. 100 dollar bills

again, not a girl girl girl…although for benjamins…jk jk

4. Trees (and yes…)

5. A blender full of green drink

Oh yes, I love the innards of my fruit and veggie drawer blended up into one fabulous, easily digestible glass of yum. OH, I just got chills reminiscing!

I must of course admit that when I first put all of these wonderful things into my blender I looked at the end result and thought, “wow, that is the most disgusting thing I might (or might not) ever drink.” But then I closed my eyes, visualized paradise, took a sip, opened my eyes, put it back in the blender, added more honey, poured it back into my glass, took a much more cautious sip, and thought, “Hey this glass of wholesome nutrition aint so bad after all.”

And thus, the love affair began.

Today marks the 1 monthiversary of my drinking of green substance and I have to say, I feel better than EVER! Though even my health foodie co workers at Rainbow Blossom give me dirty looks when I bring in my green drinks (I’ve learned to start using coffee mugs as to avoid the inevitable stink face from whomever might cross my radiant green sipping path), I will not back down! As long as I have a blender, my green drinks will live on.

I have found that green smoothies are an art that I still have not completely mastered. I have learned, however, that fruit is crucial, and the greener the drink, the greater the need for cinnamon and stevia becomes ; )

I vow to share all my best concoctions with you, as I want everyone out there who’s craving phatitute to have at least one orgy with their blender and all things green. Let the raw and radiant energy be with you!

And this one I dub….

Tropical Thunder

To Feed Your Hunger

YUMSIES

Ingredients; Grouped and listed in order of blending, adding, and blending; HAVE FUN!

STOP, add next group of ingredients then blend

The base ingredients of Tropical Thunder...That gooey stuff on the left is chia gel ; )

STOP, add next group of ingredients then blend
  • 1 cup Kale (WHFA)
  • 1 cup Parsley (WHFA)
STOP, add next group of ingredients then blend
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 scoop wheat grass/blue green algae/spirulina powder (I use amazing grass ‘s wheat grass powder) 
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon-(WHFA) **optional: do this if the drink tastes too earthy to you!
STOP, add next group of ingredients then blend
  • 1/2 cup crushed ice (if you like it cold, but keep in mind, drinking it cold will impede digestion)
How to Make Chia Gel (about a week of smoothie making funs supply)
  • 3/4 cup seeds, ground into meal using coffee grinder (I find food processors don’t quite get the job done; maybe because mine is a p.o.s)
  • 1 cup of purified water
  • Glass Jar with lid (orrrr tupperware will do)
  • A few hours in the refrigerator (overnight works best)

The greener the drink, the better the high ; )

*WHFA=Worlds Healthiest Food Alert

