Chi-wi Rawnana I Scream Snacking Pies

Posted on August 28, 2011

3



Bananas are luxurious. They are delightful and perfect and go well with SO many yummy foods (I had a sushi roll at Oishii the other day called a Geiza Roll with avocado, banana and eel sauce. *drooling and reminiscing*) .

I’m totally dreaming of partnering up with my most local banana man and simply selling frozen bananas featuring a label something like: all natural, organic, raw, health food popsicles with naturally occurring Vitamin C, Potassium, Manganese, a very good source of Vitamin B6 while being very low in Saturated Fat, Cholesterol and Sodium while being a good source of Dietary Fiber (1).

Million dollar idea right!? (this is where I find out how to copyright an idea….)

Homemade Vanilla Almond Milk

WAY CREAMIER THAN ANY STORE BOUGHT ALMOND MILK OUT THERE!

  • 3/4 cup “raw” almonds, soaked overnight-48 hours
  • 1 cup water
  •  1 t. finely ground stevia leaf
  • 1 capful pure vanilla extract
  1. Blend almonds and water in blender until smooth consistency is reached
  2. Add vanilla and ground stevia leaf, blend until incorporated
  3. Pour milk into cheesecloth/nut milk bag, SQUEEZE and palpate in a downwards motion, do every thing possible with that cheesecloth to milk out as much as you can!
  4. Pour into glass jar with lid and store in frig for up to a few days
Yields about 1 cup vanilla almond milk

I heart creating raw : )

Vanilla Infused Almond Crust

Using almond pulp remaining in cheesecloth/nut milk bag from making vanilla almond milk;

  1. Press and mold pulp into 1/4 inch layer into small (I used 4×6) container
  2. If too dry, sprinkle with filtered water and continue to mold until even
  3. Make banana filling while leaving almond crust to chill in frig for an hour or so
**After I tasted this I decided next time I use almond pulp as crust I’ll process it up with a couple of soaked dates and a pinch of Pink Himalayan or Real Salt as it was bland and a little too dry. Medjool dates should definitely do the trick!

Banana Filling

In case you were curious, here's what soaked medjool dates look like! (not yet pitted)

  • 1 cup Frozen/slightly thawed (in sun or sat out at room temperature) chopped bananas
  • 1/4 cup homemade almond milk
  • 3 soaked medjool dates, pitted
  • 1/2 cup soaked date liquid
  • 1/4 teaspoon Real Salt/Himalayan Salt/Celtic Sea Salt
  1. After chilling almond crust, layer kiwi slices on top of crust before pouring on banana ice cream filling.
  2. Cover with plastic wrap and stick in freezer until firm (about 1-2 hours)
  3. While filling is firming up make kiwi chia topping

It's really hard to resist taking a million pictures of sliced kiwi ; )

Eating this banana ice cream alone is a celestial experience, no play.

Kiwi Topping

My stevia extract experiment ; )

  1. Puree in food processor until desired consistency
  2. Let firm up in frig while banana filling is firming up
  3. Once banana filling is nice and firm, top with kiwi chia mix
  4. Using cookie or biscuit cutters of your choice (I went the safe route this time aroundand used circular..) cut out little pies. My

    pre cookie cutting

    cookie cutter wasn’t deep enough so I had to show my knife a little love to finish the job ; )

  5. Garnish with anything fun, I thought banana slices would do the trick.
  6. DIG IN, yumsies ; )
**Next time I fully intend to cover these in decadent cacao sauce : D’

a million times yumsies, perfect summertime snack.

Rawsome treat to admire and devour in the melty summer sun ; )

STAY TUNED for details on how my 7 day 100% raw foods challenge went! I’ll be wrapping up the 7 days on Tuesday and will be divulging all the dirty lil details throughout September! YAYY, I can’t wait to share my results and stories with you : D

Resources (1) Self Nutrition Data, Initials. (2011). Nutrition facts; 1 cup banana, raw. Retrieved from http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/fruits-and-fruit-juices/1846/2#ixzz1TH6QXwh4
